Contact Albany 2030Opens in new browser window Albany, NYOpens in new browser window Visit the City of Albany Mayor's Office of Energy & Sustainability on Facebook Follow us on Twitter
Learn more about:
Climate Change
Resources for:
City Employees
News & Events
Quick Tips
Climate Conversations
Mayor Jennings Welcomes a group of citizens to the Climate Conversations held the last week of June.
Mayor Jennings Welcomes a group of citizens to the Climate Conversations held the last week of June.
In late June the Office of Energy & Sustainability held three Climate Conversation events at local library branches. At each discussion, a wide range of Albany residents came out to learn about what the City is doing to adapt to Climate Change. Attendees were split into breakout groups and given the chance to voice their opinions on what the City should include in its Climate Action and Adaptation plan. Participants were polled at both the beginning and end of the discussion to gauge how their opinions may have changed.

A detailed report was created based upon the views expressed at these meetings and is available for download here.

Community Advisory Committee

The Community Advisory Committee on Sustainability is formed by Mayor Jennings and the Office of Energy and Sustainability to provide advice and feedback on the climate change component of Albany’s comprehensive plan. Composed of residents, business, and institution leaders from various parts of the community, the committee represents a diverse and informed voice on sustainability and the future of Albany. Nominations for the Community Advisory Committee were received in February 2011 and twenty three individuals were selected. The Committee meets once a month until September 2011 with plans for ongoing engagement beyond.

Members of the City of Albany Community Advisory Committee on Sustainability



Bill Bruce


John Bryant

The College of Saint Rose

Yusuf Burgess

Green Tech Charter High School

Eric Dahl

Affordable Housing Partnership

Laura DeGaetano

Albany County Planning Department

Lisa Good

Trinity Institution

Michael Hartman

the Chazen Companies

Steven Iachetta

Albany Airport

Mike Jacobson

Capital District Habitat for Humanity

Shridhar Karve

3t Architects

Scott Kellogg

Radix Ecological Sustainability Center

Mark Lowery

NYS Department of Environmental Conservation

Richard Lyons

Albany County Sewer District c.

Mary Ellen Mallia

University of Albany

Sue Nealon

National Grid

David Riposo


Seth Rosenblum

Rosenblum Properties, Rosenblum Equities

Patricia Salkin

Albany Law School

Robert Schofield

Whiteman Osterman Hanna

Pete Sheehan

Hudson Mohawk Group

Jodi Smits Anderson

Dormitory Authority of the State of New York

Brian Steinmuller

NYS Soil & Water Conservation Committee

Carrie Ward

Capital District Transportation Authority

This website was prepared with funds provided by the federal Energy Efficiency and Conservation Block Grant (EECBG) Program
and through a grant from the Stakeholders Foundation.