Contact Albany 2030Opens in new browser window Albany, NYOpens in new browser window Visit the City of Albany Mayor's Office of Energy & Sustainability on Facebook Follow us on Twitter
Learn more about:
Climate Change
Resources for:
City Employees
News & Events
Quick Tips
Sustainability Working Group
The Mayor’s Office of Energy and Sustainability coordinates the Sustainability Working Group (SWG), a committee of City of Albany government commissioners and staff that work together to develop and implement the City’s energy and sustainability plan. The mission and participants of the SWG are listed below.

The mission statement of the SWG is:

Promote the economic, social, and environmental well being of the City of Albany by implementing actions to

  • Integrate sustainability into the city’s comprehensive plan
  • Optimize energy efficiency
  • Reduce waste and resource consumption
  • Fuel economic growth and job creation
  • Create vibrant, livable, socially diverse neighborhoods
  • Demonstrate leadership on climate change
To provide a strong focus on the key areas, the Sustainability Working Group is divided into the energy, waste, and transportation subcommittees and meets once a month as a full group and once a month in the subcommittees.

Energy Subcommittee

Name Department Title
Nick D'Antonio General Services Commissioner
Dan Dillilo General Services Deputy Commissioner
John Marsolais City Clerk and Vital Statistics City Clerk
Doug Melnick Development and Planning Planning Director
Laura Moody Housing Authority MOD Coordinator
John Reilly Law Corporation Counsel
Marc Trudeau Police Building Services Supervisor

Fleet Subcommittee

Name Department Title
Warren Abriel Fire and Emergency Services Executive Deputy Chief
John  Kosa Water Deputy Commissioner
Deirdre Rudolph Engineering City Engineer
Dave Sherry General Services Fleet Manager
Tim Close Police Lieutenant

Waste Subcommittee

Name Department Title
Bill Bruce Office of Energy & Sustainability Waste Consultant
Sue Cleary Office of Special Events Director
Bill Ferber Purchasing Director
Jerry Spicer Youth Services Director
Frank Zeoli General Services Director of Recycling


Name Department Title
Bob VanAmburgh Mayor's Office Executive Assistant
Faye Andrews Youth and Workforce Services Commissioner
Doug Blakeman Housing Authority Assistant
Keith McDonald Assessment and Taxation Commissioner
Tara Wells Administrative Services Deputy Corporation Counsel
This website was prepared with funds provided by the federal Energy Efficiency and Conservation Block Grant (EECBG) Program
and through a grant from the Stakeholders Foundation.